Return to Headlines

District Celebrates Retiring, Newly Tenured Staff

Retiree Staff Celebration  Tenure Staff Celebration

With more than 1,100 years of service to the Massapequa School District, 37 retirees were honored prior to the board of education meeting on May 23. The annual retirement ceremony celebrates administrators, faculty and staff for their professionalism and commitment to students.

Superintendent Dr. William Brennan expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the retirees and wished them the best as they begin new chapters in their lives. He noted that their unwavering commitment has made Massapequa schools even better.

Service time for the retirees spanned from eight years in the district to 39 years. They included administrators, teachers, nurses, social workers, teaching assistants and monitors, as well as clerical, facilities and food service staff.

“We thank you for your years of service and passion for education,” Board of Education President Kerry Wachter said.

This year’s retirees are Theresa Belmonte, Debra Cerar, Mary Elizabeth Delaney, Terry DeLilla, Eileen DeMarco, Hollyann DiMarco, Susan Femminella, Geraldine Fursa, Frank Gergenti, Ann Marie Giarratano, Jodie Insinga, Claudia Keller, Randi Kohanim, Barbara Korenstein, Jill Korwan, Roberta Lobody, Claire Merz, Jane Milbach, Joseph O’Connor, Kathleen O’Hara, Gary O’Leary, William Pollock, Hernan Penafiel, Michael Quigley, Lucille Robertson, Shari Roessler, Kathryn Rood, Joseph Schmalenberger, John Schmitt, Kenneth Schmitz, Nicholas Sessa, Tomia Smith, Jeanne Squillante, Kathleen Stanwise, Robert Tuohey, Kathleen Voigt and Joanne Waters.

It was also a celebration of staff members who have been with the district only a few years. During the business meeting, the Massapequa Board of Education granted tenure to 44 educators including administrators, faculty members and teaching assistants.

Congratulations to: Amanda Albert, Samantha Berna, Haylee Brick, Julia Calandro, Megan Chalil, Alison Clemente, Kimberly DeRienzo, Deborah DiPietro, Michele Fahey, Emily Flaherty, Tammy Gandolfo, Christine Gooden, Donna Granata, Irene Karayiannis, Antoinette Kearney, Paige LaBosco, Sarah Lang, Colleen Lawlor, Robin Malamud, Daniel Mezzafonte, Samantha Montanino, Erin Mosier, Cristina Mullooly, Tara Nash, Stephanie O’Hara, Allyson Owens, Tianna Parrella, Tracey Perles, Nicole Pitta, Kirsten Poveromo, Courtney Puricelli, Meghan Reedy, Cristine Rizza, Sidney Romano, Jordan Santoro, Anna Schwen, Jaclyn Scorce, Rashel Shamtoob, Monia Sherman, Michael Spiritis, John Watson, Tanya Weisberger, Keri Wing and Marian Zedalis.