Return to Headlines

District Honors Retirees, Newly Tenured Staff

The Massapequa School District honored staff members for two significant career milestones at the May 18 board of education meeting – retirement and tenure.

This year’s 40 retirees totaled 1,022 years of service to Massapequa as administrators, clerical staff, custodians, monitors, teachers and teaching assistants.

“No matter your position, you’ve made an incredible difference,” Superintendent Dr. William Brennan told the retirees, as he thanked them for their time, loyalty, expertise, dedication and service.

This year’s retirees are Cathy Arbia, Catherine Badamo, Karen Butcher, Jill Corson, Susan Crimarco, Robert Crowley, Denise Curiale, Linda Derck, John DiNicola, Luana Dunn, Dr. Thomas Fasano, Kristy Ann Fitzmaurice, Debra Flaster, Vincent Garone, Barbara Giovanniello, Gina Glaser, Shari Habermann, Rosemary Hennessy, Richard Hludzinski, Janice Kincaid, Nancy Kohlhoff, John Kuligowski, Mary Jane Kutchenrider, Jean Lee, Barbara Luba, Richard Lukaschek, Geraldine MacCarthy, Alan Margolis, Miguel Mujica, Nancy Murtha, Kathryn Pullen, Annette Ready, Denise Reynolds, Jean Scavella, Jeanne Striffolino, Kathleen Tonn, Theresa Travers, Donna Vigliotti, Susan Viollis and Nadine Wood.

The board also awarded tenure to two dozen staff members including administrators, teachers and support staff. Dr. Brennan explained that earning tenure is a significant honor as it shows they have met the district’s exceptionally high standards.

Tenure recipients include Melissa Abruzzese, Lauren Annarumma, Jillian Burke, Kristen Catalano, Tina Catalanotto, Saranna Cerullo, Amanda Collins, Serena Dixon, Dr. Kristi Gerhard, Brittany Gervase, Vincent Green, Christopher Kiernan, Kathryn LaPenta, Brittany Lindo, Nicole Lipori, Barbara Lowell, Colleen McCree, Diane McGrath, Patrick Nash, Patricia Quinn-Hendry, Dr. Zachary Rose, Wendy Saar, Natalie Suckow and Louisa Vecchione.